I saved the best artist feature for last. Just take a random guess on who I picked ๐Ÿ˜‰

Chase at the Georgia Theatre on September 17, 2014 :)
Chase at the Georgia Theatre on September 17, 2014 ๐Ÿ™‚

If y’all follow me on any social media site y’all know my #1 guy is Chase Rice and imma try to tell y’all why he’s that without writing a novel- no promises though… ๐Ÿ™‚

I first heard about Chase around February 2013 on the Highway when they played his song “How She Rolls.” After thatย I went to his website to find out more about his music. As I was looking around his website I discovered I had just missed one of his shows at a local bar here in my college town and I was raising some cane. Thankfully though I saw he would be returning to my area right after my birthday so I started making concert plans.

Unfortunately Chase had to cancel that show due to him having to take time off for vocal rest so I went back to his website and looked for another show. At that time though there weren’t any more shows listed because they didn’t know when Chase was going to be able to return to touring. I just remember thinking when he got better he was gonna reschedule his date at the Brewhouse and I would HAVE to attend that show.

My friend and I were planning a trip to CMA Fest 2013 and Chase had just been cleared by his doctor to return to touring and he was singing a few times around town, but none of the times worked out for our previous plans. I remember we were sitting at a restaurant eating lunch and Terri shows me on her phone a tweet from Chase saying he was going to do a signing and picture opportunity in a hour. FINALLY after waiting for months after discovering him we were gonna get our chance to at least see Chase.

It was a really short meet and greet because he didn’t have long at the booth so it was a quick “hi” and “bye” but it was enough ๐Ÿ™‚

8673_682816405068149_438118957_n
Terri & I with Chase at CMA Fest in Nashville on June 8, 2013

Finally the day that Chase had resceduled his Brewhouse date had rolled around, but me trying to be all studious was not planning on going because I had class all night. I remember getting to my class and sitting down and scrolling through Twitter. I stopped when I saw Chase had tweeted a picture of him taking a shot outside of the Brewhouse. I showed it to Terri, who had forgotten it was that night, needless to say she convinced me to skip class and go see him- which started my whole motto of concerts > class (oopsies.)ย It was Chase’s birthday so I knew it was gonna be a big party so it wasn’t that hard for her to get me in her truck ๐Ÿ™‚

As we were walking to the doors at the Brewhouse weย saw Chase just chilling on the street talking with John and another guy. It was cool to see how down to earth he was. I told him happy birthday as we walked by and then Terri and I made our way inside so we would be able to get a front row view- the best way to go ๐Ÿ˜‰

945186_744295522253570_1015196195_n
Chase at the Brewhouse in Rome, GA on September 19, 2013. Photo cred: Terri Fortenberry

My first Chase concert experience was everything I knew it would be. I have to admit at the time I really didn’t know many of his songs so when he sang my all time fave (at the time) “Shakin’ the Wheels” I was pumped. Since I didn’t really know a lot of his songs word for word it gave me the opportunity to focus on all the excitement that was going on. It was great to see how much fun him and his band were having on stage and I’ll admit that is why/how my whole concert addiction started.

He even handed me the first guitar pick of the night- which is another reason I got hooked. ๐Ÿ™‚

1240431_744297298920059_1116387089_n
Chase handing me his guitar pick. Photo cred: Terri Fortenberry.

It’s cool now to sit back and compare this show to all the other shows I’ve seen. This show was right after Chase’s (at the time, future) hit song “Ready Set Roll” was released to the Highway so almost no one in the building knew the words. It’s great to see how much his career has grown since that night.

So yeah it was a pretty great experience. What made it even better was when Chase said that everyone could meet him after the show ๐Ÿ™‚ He was super sweet and chatted with me for a little bit ๐Ÿ™‚

Chaseee
Chase & I after his show at the Brewhouse.

After the first time seeing Chase I was ready to see him again. There is no greater feeling in the world than getting lost in a live show for a few hours and forgetting all the bad going on. So I was super pumped to discover Chase’s “Ready Set Roll” Fall tour was making two stops here in Alabama.

About a week before Chase’s Birmingham show the local radio station, 102.5 the Bull, announced he would be stopping by the Bull Lounge for a short acoustic performance before his show that night at the Zydeco. Terri and I won tickets and it was great to see his acoustic set. That’s how you see an artist’s true talent.

1422600_10151729840312793_1516951490_n
Chase at the Bull Lounge in Birmingham on November 14, 2013. Photo cred; Terri Fortenberry.
Chase & I after his Bull Lounger acoustic set
Chase & I after his Bull Lounger acoustic set

Later that night Chase had his show at the Zydecoย and Terri and I had VIP tickets. Lemme just say that this meet and greet experience is one I shall never forget and one no one will ever let me live down.

So I was really nervous for some unknown reason aka I rambled a bunch of random things to Chase- lawdddd. From my awkwardness acknowledging the fact that he was super tall to my awkward “hugs not drugs” line when I asked for a hug, yep guaranteed to not forget. But hey at least it was memorable and not boring ๐Ÿ™‚

Chase & I at the Zydeco in Birmingham on November 14, 2013
Chase & I at the Zydeco in Birmingham on November 14, 2013

The show went just as well as the first and a highlight for me was to see how many people in the crowd knew all the words to “Ready Set Roll.” A BIG difference from just a few months previously.

Chase at the Zydeco. Photo cred: Terri Fortenberry
Chase at the Zydeco. Photo cred: Terri Fortenberry

Two nights later Chase’s tour made it’s stop in my college town and I was super excited for this show because I only had to drive 20 minutes to get there. Chase had previously the night before posted on his Facebook wall that the first ten people in line would get a guaranteed meet and greet before the show. So Terri and I showed up super early to be able to secure our spot in line and get those meet and greets. We ended up having a blast before the show with a few people we met waiting in line and we got to hear him sound check. We even were causing so much racket outside at one point Chase stuck his head out the door to see what all the commotion was about (oopsies- we like to have a good time) ๐Ÿ™‚

This meet and greet went wayyyy better than the previous one. I vowed to not make a fool of myself again and I think I succeeded. He remembered me (probably because of my awkwardness but nonetheless he remembered!!) ๐Ÿ™‚

Chase & I at Brother's Bar in Jacksonville, AL on November 16, 2013.
Chase & I at Brother’s Bar in Jacksonville, AL on November 16, 2013.

The show though, lawddddd, leave it to Jacksonville to be classy that’s all I’m gonna say ๐Ÿ™‚

Chase at Brother's. Photo cred: Terri Fortenberry
Chase at Brother’s. Photo cred: Terri Fortenberry

The second leg of Chase’s “Ready Set Roll” tour in the Spring of this year made it’s stop at the Jupiter in Tuscaloosa. This was the first show I attended of Chase’s where I didn’t have a meet and greet, boo, but he put on an amazing show as usual. He had the whole crowd rocking all night. Chase seriously puts on the biggest party I’ve ever seen.

Chase at the Jupiter bar in Tuscaloosa, AL on March 13, 2014. Photo creds: me & Terri Fortenberry
Chase at the Jupiter bar in Tuscaloosa, AL on March 13, 2014. Photo creds: me & Terri Fortenberry

Now to my most recent show of Chase’s at the Georgia Theatre in Athens, GA. It was my friend, Erica’s, first time seeing Chase so I knew regardless it was going to be a blast letting her experience her first “front row or don’t go” with me. ๐Ÿ™‚

Me outside the Georgia Theatre before Chase's show.
Me outside the Georgia Theatre before Chase’s show.

Hands down the best show I’ve seen of Chase’s (or of anyone ever.) Chase has gone through a complete band change, and not to say his band wasn’t good previously because they were, but holy macaroni they were amazing!! I didn’t think the energy level at one of Chase’s shows could get any higher, but somehow it did.

Here’s a video of Chase singing his second single off ofย Ignite the Night, “Gonna Wanna Tonight.”

I absolutley love this song and I can’t wait to see how much it climbs the charts. It’s such a sweet song and different from his previous songs. Be sure to check it out and request it at your local radio stations!

A highlight of the night for me was definitely when he sang his cover of “The Dance.” Out of all the times I had seen him he had never sang it at any of my shows. This song means the world to me so I was so happy to finally get to see it.

Another highlight of the night for me was when Chase sang his cover of SoMo’s song “Ride.” I had seen videos of Chase singing this at his shows and he had only done just the chorus previously so when he started singing the whole thing I was thrown off guard and kinda freaked like a twelve year old fangirl. Below is a video of him singing a little bit of “Ride” acoustically to a lucky girl from the crowd.

Do you see why I freaked out now? F-I-R-E

But my absolute favorite moment of the night came during “Ready Set Roll.” He lets the crowd sing back to him the last verse and the smile on his face when everyone in that room was shouting the lyrics to him is a look I will NEVER forget. I just wish I could have caught it on camera.

This was seriously the best show and I can’t wait til the next time- which will be super soon ๐Ÿ™‚

Chase at the GA Theatre.
Chase at the GA Theatre in Athens, GA on September 17, 2014
Gm7J9THA
Chase at the GA theatre

Chase’s major label debut cdย Ignite the Nightย went number one on Billboard’s Top Country Albums chart. Which is a HUGE accomplishment. If you haven’t checked out the album yet I definitely recommend that you do. It’s one firey track after the next and definitely did not let me down.

The success of “Ready Set Roll” has been one that I have gotten to watch from the start as a fan and it has been amazing to see. As I mentioned I saw this song live before it was even released and no one knew the words and then to last time I saw him in September (two days short of being a year apart) where the crowd exploded with this amazing energy as soon as they heard the robot voice. It has been a fun journey for me to watch this song grow. I can’t imagine how he feels having it be sung back to him every night all across the country. Not only has this song done well at shows it has also done well on the radio where it peaked in the top five on the country airplay charts. AMAZING. I can’t think of a better, more harder working person for the success of this song to go to- congrats Chase ๐Ÿ™‚

People may see Chase as just a party guy because a majority of his songs are just that, but on every album of his there is at least one personal song about his dad- which is why he’s my favorite. Y’all know my story of what happened to my dad and know how much music means to me. So to have someone in the music industry go through a similar situation and then make songs about it helps me deal with everything so much better. Three of these songs are “Larger Than Life,” “My Old Man,” and “Jack Daniels and Jesus.” If I had the ability to write songs these would be very similar to what I’d say to match how I feel. To me the emotion in these songs are what music is supposed be all about. ย He gained a forever fan from me because of these songs.

Here's a tweet from Chase to me that means the world to me. Just for him to know how much these songs mean to me is the best :)
Here’s a tweet from Chase to me that means the world to me. Just for him to know how much these songs mean to me is the best ๐Ÿ™‚

With so many albums to choose from I’m gonna try to narrow my favorites down to just a few: “Country As Me,” “The Pole Song,” “Room 205,” “Country Boy’s Kryptonite,” “Shakin’ the Wheels,” “Happy Hour (Worktape,)” “Whoa,” “MMM Girl,” “Beer with the Boys,” “Carolina Can,” “Gonna Wanna Tonight,” “50 Shades of Crazy,” “Country in Ya,” and last but far from least is his cover of SoMo’s song “Ride.” Check those out and soon you’ll be on the same wagon as me.

Chase is currently on his headlining “Ignite the Night” tour so go to chaserice.com to check out the dates. TRUST ME you don’t want to miss this tour! Also Chase will be hitting the road in the Summer of 2015 with Kenny Chesney on his tour, “The Big Revival.” WHICH IS HUGE- hello stadium shows! ๐Ÿ™‚

screenshot from Chase's twitter: @ChaseRiceMusic :)
screenshot from Chase’s twitter: @ChaseRiceMusic ๐Ÿ™‚

Stay up to date with all things Chase by following him on twitter: @ChaseRiceMusic; facebook: /ChaseRiceMusic; instagram: @chaserice; weekly CR 24/7 episodes (which are HILARIOUS) on his youtube channel: Chase Rice; VEVO channel: TheChaseRiceVEVO; and be sure to go to iTunes and download all his albums ๐Ÿ™‚

โค

