If it wasn’t for my mother, I probably wouldn’t know who Scotty is and if I didn’t know who Scotty was I probably wouldn’t have dived as deep into the “fangirl” life as I have. I remember when Scotty was on American Idol my mom, who is technology challenged, would call me into her room after his performances and tell me to go online and vote for this Scotty McCreery guy. Let’s be honest I’m pretty sure my mom would’ve rather been at home watching the American Idol finale instead of at my graduation 🙂

Fast forward to December of 2011 to when I first heard “The Trouble With Girls”- I was instantly hooked and wanted to hear more. I got a lot of “I told you so, Renee” comments from my mom, naturally and the rest is really history.

Around the time of my birthday in 2012 Scotty announced that he was having his first fan club party in Nashville and I was dead set on all I wanted was tickets to that. Thankfully, it wasn’t hard to convince my mom to get me a membership 🙂

my fan club stuff I received as a birthday present from my mom :)
my fan club stuff I received as a birthday present from my mom 🙂

Scotty’s 1st fan club party was held at Rocketown in Nashville on June 9, 2012. It was only my second concert experience so I was super inexperienced, which is laughable to think about now, so I didn’t get any good pictures of him performing. I just remembered I freaked out the whole time, yep I was “that girl,” because it was such a surreal feeling to be in the same room as your idol (cheesy- I know.) After Scotty’s performance we were lined up to go meet him and nervous doesn’t even begin to describe what I was feeling (he is the first celebrity I had ever met.) I remembering standing in line asking my aunt how to properly shake a hand and right before I walked up there she told me not to pass out and I like zoned out. I really don’t remember much except his blue eyes and I forgot to tell him my name- I was a mess, lawd.

Scotty & I at his 1st fanclub party in Nashville, TN on June 9, 2012
Scotty & I at his 1st fanclub party in Nashville, TN on June 9, 2012

My second Scotty concert experience went MUCH better. My mom was supposed to attend this show with me, but she was sick so last minute my friend, Terri, agreed to go with me (& thus that started our “attend concerts together” kick.) The concert was held on December 14, 2012 at the BJCC Concert Hall in Birmingham. I had told myself going into this meet and greet that I had better not forget to tell him my name and thankfully I held it together and remembered (if you’ve ever met him you understand why- those blue eyes.) Scotty seriously is the sweetest.

Scotty & I at his Bham concert on December 14, 2012.
Scotty & I at his Bham concert on December 14, 2012.

The concert itself was equally amazing. He had the crowd both young and old singing along and having an amazing time. Highlights for me were hearing his cover of “The Dance” holy macaroni AMAZING and seeing his Elvis dance moves 🙂

Scotty at the BJCC Concert Hall December 14, 2012. Photo cred: Terri Fortenberry.
Scotty at the BJCC Concert Hall December 14, 2012. Photo cred: Terri Fortenberry.
Scotty at the BJCC Concert Hall December 14, 2012. Photo cred: Terri Fortenberry.
Scotty at the BJCC Concert Hall December 14, 2012. Photo cred: Terri Fortenberry.

The third time I saw Scotty was at his 2nd fan club party in Nashville held at the same place as the first, Rocketown, on June 9, 2013 exactly a year after his first. This time my friend Terri and I went to Nashville and made a weekend of it so it was a lot of fun. Scotty’s fan club party was the last thing on our Nashville agenda so we were pretty exhausted by the time Sunday rolled around, but Scotty’s energy and smile boosted us up. I loved the way this party went- it was a lot more interactive with the fans. He had behind the scenes/outtake videos from his ScotTv episodes and a longer Q&A session. Unlike the first fan club party this was an acoustic, sit down performance which was good to see since I had seen the high energy performances twice from Scotty already. I’m a big fan of seeing an artist sing acoustically because that is when you can tell they have true talent.

Scotty at his 2nd fan club party in Nashville on June 9, 2013. Photo cred: Terri Fortenberry.
Scotty at his 2nd fan club party in Nashville on June 9, 2013. Photo cred: Terri Fortenberry.

After all this went down it was time for the meet and greet which went amazing 🙂 The only bummer was that it had rained on us waiting outside so my hair looked horrible, but all is well.

Scotty & I at his 2nd fan club party.
Scotty & I at his 2nd fan club party.

Songs to check out of Scotty’s: “Clear As Day,” “The Trouble With Girls,” “Dirty Dishes,” “That Old King James,” “Christmas In Heaven,” “The Dash,” “Forget to Forget You,” “Carolina Moon,” “Something More,” and “Before Midnight.” Those are my all time favorites from his three cds 🙂

Overall I have a lot to be thankful for when it comes to Scotty. I’ve met some pretty amazing, life long friends via twitter through him, he’s the reason I started wanting to go to so many concerts, and even though this fangirl life is crazy and I’m not as into it as I started out, if it wasn’t for Scotty I wouldn’t even know the fangirl world existed. 🙂 So thanks Scotty for providing us with amazing music that has brought so many people together!

Be sure to stay up to date with all things Scotty by following him on twitter: @ScottyMcCreery; facebook: /scottymccreery; instagram: @scottymccreery; also be sure to check out his iTunes page and download his albums 🙂

