The first thing that comes to mind when I think of Sam Hunt is the word talented. Sam has had three major song cuts, “Come Over” by Kenny Chesney, “Cop Car” by Keith Urban and “We Are Tonight” by Billy Currington, and his first single from his new album Montevallo, “Leave the Night On” has just gone number one. Not only has “Leave the Night On” gone number one on the country airplay charts this week, but Montevallo is also the number country album of the week. Talk about a joyful reason to celebrate.

screenshot from Sam's twitter- @SamHuntMusic
screenshot from Sam’s twitter- @SamHuntMusic

I first heard about Sam from fellow country artist, Chase Rice. Sam went on part of Chase’s “Ready Set Roll” tour last fall, unfortunately none of the shows with Sam opening stopped around here. Once I heard he was opening for Chase and found out he was from this area I was instantly curious and decided to check out his music. Lemme just say he does not disappoint.

Fast forward to a year later and Sam has had so much success. Taking his acoustic mixtape, Between the Pines, and making studio recordings of those songs and adding a few more songs Sam released his major label debut cd, Montevallo, on October 27th. I was already a fan, but he definitely grabbed my attention even more.

Highlights of Montevallo: There are four stand out songs for me and those are “Break Up in a Small Town,” “Speakers,” “Make You Miss Me,” and “Cop Car.”

“Break Up in a Small Town”- Sam is a lyrical genius and this song is so catchy… it won’t take long for you to be screaming the lyrics to that third verse. It instantly grabbed my attention and became a favorite.

“SPEAKERS”- this title is in all caps cause holy macaroni that song is fire and I love it. I was in love with his acoustic version and I was so scared to hear the recorded version because I was scared it was gonna lose some of the slow, emotion, but danggggg Sam just made it better. It is my all time favorite song from Sam and if you don’t check out any of his music you had better check out that one.

“Make You Miss Me”- the first time I heard this song last year I legit cried because the emotion of the lyrics come through so well with his voice and the piano playing. This was another song I was scared to hear the recorded version but I had chills after listening to it. AMAZINGGGGG. I just don’t know how he does it.

“Cop Car”- now if you follow me on twitter you’ve seen my rants over this song. I am so glad he recut this song. He brings so much more emotion and beauty to this song than Keith Urban ever could.

Now typically when I find an artist and love them I find a show and attend, but the problem (good for him, bad for me) with Sam is he’s from around here so he sales out pretty much instantly. So unfortunately I have not been able to see him, but my good friend Mikaela has seen him and she has shared with me her experiences and it just warms my heart to hear how interactive he is with his fans.

Here is Mikaela & Sam at two shows in Pennsylvania. September 14th & August 2nd :) *gorgggggg*
Here is Mikaela & Sam at two shows in Pennsylvania. September 14th & August 2nd 🙂 *gorgggggg*
Sam Hunt at the York fair on September 14th. photo cred: Mikaela Mummert
Sam Hunt at the York fair on September 14th. photo cred: Mikaela Mummert
Sam Hunt at the Carroll County Fair August 2nd. phot cred: Mikaela Mummert.
Sam Hunt at the Carroll County Fair August 2nd. phot cred: Mikaela Mummert.

I can’t wait for the day I finally get to catch Sam in concert cause I know he will make me an even bigger fan- if that’s possible 🙂 Thank you Mikaela for the pics!

Stay up to date with all things Sam by following him on twitter: @SamHuntMusic; facebook: /SamHuntMusic; instagram: samhuntmusic; and be sure to get his debut album Montevallo on iTunes 🙂

